Once you’re a member of LAUNC-CH, there are plenty of ways to get involved with the organization.

  • Attend our networking events, such as the annual Fall Social, spring Research Forum, Trivia Event, and more!
  • Join one of LAUNC-CH’s committees, and work with colleagues on important LAUNC-CH business.
  • Run for office! It’s fun (and it looks great on a CV).

Collage of LAUNC-CH events

LAUNC-CH Committees

Each spring, LAUNC-CH will make a call for volunteers to serve on each committee. Please consider serving!

Conference Committee

Plans and coordinates an annual conference on a topic of general interest to the membership.

Communications Committee

Ensures effective communication and marketing of LAUNC-CH, including maintaining the LAUNC-CH website and social media.

Professional Development Committee

Sponsors opportunities for members’ professional growth and development through activities, outreach to other local professional groups, and mentoring.

Professional Welfare Committee

Investigates actions and policies that help to clarify and improve the professional status and benefits of library workers at UNC-CH.

Program Committee

Plans and coordinates fun and informative events throughout the year, such as the fall social, a trivia event, etc.

 

LAUNC-CH Board

LAUNC-CH is governed by the Executive Board, consisting of the President, President-elect, Treasurer, Secretary, SILS Student Representative, and the chairs of each of the committees.

People standing outside in front of concrete steps of South Building on UNC-CH campus.t

Officers

President: Monica Figueroa, Davis Library, CB#3900, 962-3820, monica@unc.edu
Vice President / President Elect: Amy Fader, Davis Library, CB#3916, 962-3861, aebanks@email.unc.edu
Past President: Kristan Shawgo, Davis Library, CB#3922, 962-3768, shawgo@email.unc.edu
Secretary: Dawne Lucas, Wilson Library, CB#3926, 966-1776, dawne_lucas@unc.edu
Treasurer: Jodi Berkowitz, Wilson Library, CB#3926, 962-4237, jmberkow@email.unc.edu

Committee Chairs & SILS Student Representative

Communications Committee – Chad Haefele, House Undergraduate Library, CB#3942, 962-3702, chaefele@email.unc.edu
Conference Committee – Joanneke Elliot, Davis Library, CB#3902, 962-3700, joanneke@email.unc.edu and Donna Nixon, Law Library, CB#3385, 843-9280, dnixon@email.unc.edu
Program Committee – Nancy Lovas, Davis Library, CB#3922, 962-4249, nancy64@email.unc.edu
Professional Development Committee – Dayna Durbin, House Undergraduate Library, CB#3942, 962-4202, ddurbin@email.unc.edu and Meg McMahon, meg21@live.unc.edu
Professional Welfare Committee – Rebekah Kati, Wilson Library, CB#3946, 843-6625, rkati@email.unc.edu
SILS Student Representative – Sam Mandani, smandani@live.unc.edu